12v water pump transformer

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

total1

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've been asked to wire up a 12v water pump in a coffee shop - which they supplied. It's to run off a 230v supply. The spec is as follows

Voltage - 12VDC 5 AMPS MAX

Switch off pressure - 45 PSI 3.1 BAR 31 Meters

Max flow 3.5 GPM 13.1 LPM

Recommend slow blow fuse 15 AMPS

I'm a domestic electrician so this is not my thing.

Would you just run it straight off the socket circuit ( B20 MCB) with a 20amp switch controlling a transformer connected to the pump ?

My main question is what transformer to use ? I've read what I can on the net and it seems that all the 12v transformers for lighting etc 

are not suitable due to the startup power required from the pump.

Any useful info would be greatly appreciated   

What is the pump for and is it continuous in its activity. A transformer will output ac but your pump is dc so any transformer will require dc rectification, 5A will require a minimum of 60va. Do the pump suppliers not support the units with power supplies.

The average load is no issue, neither is where you source the 230volt supply, (well under 1 amp).  

There are many DC supplies e.g. at CPC, but these are regulated units which would probably shut down if there is a start-up surge.

You really need something much simpler, like a transformer rectifier with ample over-capacity and no electronics.  Virtually a car battery charger. I don't know where you could find one ready made designed for the purpose, and agree that the makers should supply or recommend one.

Otherwise, perhaps you could get away with a 12volt supply, perhaps 10amp, intended for CCTV fitted with a small lead acid dry battery which would absorb the start up surge?