Advice Sought On Caravan Supply Wiring

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wildbill92

Reaction score
Hi there, after some advice, or rather reassurance on an issue a friend is having and planned upgrades.

Scenario:

Farmer-they do their own electrics, if bulb lights-jobs a good'n. So before saying get a professional spark, which I try to say, it's not gonna happen, I'm an electronics technician myself, so lack of 17th edition quals aside, it'll be better than if he did it.

Farm, supply comes via overhead lines to green supply box on his land, underground cable to 'SHED 1' which before the CU Tees off at the main switch to CU's located in 'SHED 2' and 'SHED 3'. - I would guess its a TN-S earthing system as no visible additional earths.

His static caravan is fed via a buried cable inside plastic pipe that is wired from an MCB on SHED 1's CU to the caravans CU.

The lights have always dimmed for the duration the kettle is on- i told him voltage drop because I believe the cable to the caravan is probably thin T+E over a distance of maybe <40 feet. (I'll check the MCB rating and cable next time i'm there)

He wants to fit an electric shower, and provide power to his shed next to the caravan which will house a tumble dryer and washing machine and light.

I proposed 40m of 10mm cable to a new caravan CU, giving 53.56A, based on in a conduit and temperature factor. Voltage drop 1.1%@50amps all approx.

From the caravan CU, a cable of at least 4mm should allow 36A if clipped, then in a large pipe to a garage type CU in the shed. This is just in case the tumble dryer and washing machine are both on and drawing large KW, probably power tools might be used here too.