Approved Contractor ?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

totalstu

Reaction score
Good evening all, i have ten years experience as a general builder and have completed lots of minor electrical alterations and additions, any major jobs have always had an Niceic "approved contractor" in to do the work. 

I would like to further my skills, have a career in a specific trade and i think electrical is my best bet, i have a reasonable understanding and have just gone to Niceic's training center in Dunstable and sat the 17th edition 4 day course with the City & Guilds 2382-12 multiple choice exam at the end. 
I bought myself a fluke multi function meter and have gone round doing Eicr's at friends and family's houses and feel quite confident using it and interpreting the results. 
I have read Guidance note 3, Best practice guide on Classification codes and numerous Niceic training books

The guys from the training center suggested i should then sit the 2394 & 2395 courses on offer, sign up to the approved contractor scheme then go out in the world and call my self a sparky ?

Looking for a little thoughts and guidance please people, I don't want to go down the apprenticeship route as i am working full time and have a mortgage so the prospect of years at apprentices wage is not an option. 

Best route, courses to take ?

I think electrical work is less likely to destroy my back in the same way that house bashing is, i am working currently as a contractor for a firm who does a lot of property maintenance and the only outsourced work is electrical, there is a mountain of work waiting for me when i am qualified and competent to do so.