Bonding question

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mudassar08

Reaction score
Hi as a apprentice i am undersanding most things but sorry for asking too many questions this will be the final one. Thanks to whoever answers my questions.
So if a Tt develops a fault from live to earth without tripping any breaker and supposedly saying the water pipe is bonded to the met and ofc that will rise to 240 aswell right? Right. Now the question is will all the surrounding properties have voltage on their pipes too cos the 240 from the faulty house will backfeed. The water mains is all common for the whole street.
Ty guys. This is a friendly forum!

This is why on a TT system to meet ADS we use an RCD.if just a MCB fed the fault it will form a potential divider with the impedance of the fault against the earth impedance of the water pipe to the DNO earthing point.
the potential of all conductive metal parts connected to the fault could rise.

This is why on a TT system to meet ADS we use an RCD.if just a MCB fed the fault it will form a potential divider with the impedance of the fault against the earth impedance of the water pipe to the DNO earthing point.
the potential of all conductive metal parts connected to the fault could rise.
Oh so would the neighbours pipes liven up too?

Btw ik you well from the other forum 😆

Hi as a apprentice i am undersanding most things but sorry for asking too many questions this will be the final one. Thanks to whoever answers my questions.
So if a Tt develops a fault from live to earth without tripping any breaker and supposedly saying the water pipe is bonded to the met and ofc that will rise to 240 aswell right? Right. Now the question is will all the surrounding properties have voltage on their pipes too cos the 240 from the faulty house will backfeed. The water mains is all common for the whole street.