Cable to garage

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a sparkie by trade, now retired but have always done heavy electrical work i.e. rolling mills, arc furnaces etc.

I need to run a cable to my garage, it already has one but I'm to install a battery and inverter in their which will need a bit more capacity. I intend to run the cable under my block paved drive and really need to feed it from the Henley blocks / meter tails in the external meter cabinet. The cable run will be around 10 metres end to end and I can squeeze into my meter cab and isolator and mcb to protect the cable. Looking at my incoming 100A supply, it seems way too small, but it's there and has a 100amp fuse in the termination unit.

Could I please have your thoughts on cable size, I'm thinking SWA 10mm+ ? 50 amp breaker between this cable and Henleys, or should run a cable duct and meter tails? I have to run conduit / duct anyway for the CT's. Is it OK to use the armour as earth or is that now frowned upong and therefore 3 core cable needed?

Yes, i do know the DNO's can frown on equipment added to meter cabinets but I do have room in mine !

Any help / advice gratefully received.

Stick with SWA John, then there is no need for RCD protection at the supply end. You can still use the Armour as CPC on that size cable, but most tend to just install 3c now a days. Personally, I would run 3c and banjo the armour both sides too. Best of both worlds.
Also, the swa can be direct burried, but if in a duct, it makes it replaceable if needs be.

Stick with SWA John, then there is no need for RCD protection at the supply end. You can still use the Armour as CPC on that size cable, but most tend to just install 3c now a days. Personally, I would run 3c and banjo the armour both sides too. Best of both worlds.