Can a tethered type 1 charging lead have it's plug removed and a type 2 fitted?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Billy sheds

Reaction score
Hi, I am not an electrician though I did a HTEC in Electronics and Electrical Engineering many years ago so have a some knowledge of the field. I am about to have solar PV panels fitted (10 x 390W). I have found a Zappi car charger on Ebay which I would like to buy and have them fit it. It comes with about 8M of cable and a type 1 plug. That's great coz' that's what my current (no pun intended) Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV uses. I like the fact that the lead is tethered to keep it secure but wondered how feasible it was to change the plug if I change to a different model of car. Any help greatly appreciated. Cheers

I doubt any electrician has done that, since if they get it wrong, then plug it into a car and............
Why not ask Zappi?
The other question is, will your solar panel installers install a car charger, are they qualified?
Also why is the charger being sold?

I doubt any electrician has done that, since if they get it wrong, then plug it into a car and............
Why not ask Zappi?
The other question is, will your solar panel installers install a car charger, are they qualified?
Also why is the charger being sold?
Why not? You ony need to be registered for EV if you want to claim the OLEV grant, same as being MCS registered if you wanted to claim the FiT.