Caravan Park Query

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Red Squirrel

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Been stalking around on this forum for a while and generally everywhere to find information which can help me with a query I have regarding a caravan park power supply. Disclaimer I am not an electrician! Merely a business owner trying their hardest to understand the setup so I can work with an electrical contractor and not be completely confused!! :)

There seems to be a wide variety of talk on diversity with caravan parks and how you calculate the adequate supply for the size of a particular park.

The park I have in question has currently 40 pitches these are static caravans which remain on site all year round, all with the following setup:

• Split phase supply
  • 100amp on each phase
  • I believe we have 20 on one phase and 20 on the other
  • Outside each pitch has there own box with a 16amp fuse and 0.03A RCD

Without going any further in my simple mind if each caravan pulled maximum load at 16amp the supply is very much under rated? 40 x 16 = 640amps? Is it as simple as this? 🙄

Sorry my knowledge is very basic however I very much want to understand the setup before proceeding any further with an electrical contractor and I hoped you helpful folks could help me out some!

Chees

2 points

1. there are very specific electrical requirements in the regs for static caravans and temporary pitches

2. speak to local contractors and get written quotes of them and see how they compare

regarding the load, application of diversity is important but it sounds like your incoming supply might need upgrading

2 points

1. there are very specific electrical requirements in the regs for static caravans and temporary pitches

2. speak to local contractors and get written quotes of them and see how they compare