ceiling downlights are flickering

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pgmbmc

Reaction score
Hi all

DIYer here, added a couple of links of the products which I purchased below to see if it helps with response.  

In the process of refitting kitchen which has included installing ceiling downlights, I have installed the cable and lights myself using the power from the original lighting cables.

Originally lighting had double switch for either end of kitchen ,  I now have a 3 gang dimmer switch, two of the dimmers use one of the two circuits which has 11 x 5W CRI>80 downlights and 2 pendant lights with 60w bulbs.  The third dimmer switch has 9 x 5W CRI>80 downlights. Obviously I'm no expert her but guessing whole lighting circuit is the same one.

I installed the 11 downlights first and there was quite a bit of flickering when first switched on, second day switch on it had reduced!!!  Other side off kitchen also flickering but not as much as when the first side installed, pendants no problems, all lights are dimming ok.  Flickering isn't rapid, but just when you've forgotten about it, it flickers!!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01HJC19BK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.toolstation.com/antique-brass-dimmer-switch/p74991

Thanks all

Paul

Its your choice ...but.... why do you  need to dim the kitchen lights I ask.?      

You need to check that your 5w lamps are suitable for dimming .

The dimmer switch needs to match the lamps .

The dimmer with only a few lamps on it may  not work with a small load .

The dimmer for the 2 60w  bulbs  needs to different to the LED dimmers  .

Just dump the dimmers & fit a 3 gang switch .