Changing a ceiling light fixture - advice?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RichyJ91

Reaction score
Hello,

I have zero experience with electrics (sorry!). I want to install a pendant light fixture so that I can use a different bulb. The previous fixture had a 3-prong bayonet bulb which seems to be outdated now? When I’ve taken it off there seems to be more wires present than I have slots for, and the new fixture seems to have no where for the Earth wire. Any advice would be much appreciated.

It’s a landing light, with switches downstairs and upstairs, so I’m assuming that’s why there are extra wires? Photos are off the current wires, and new fixture.

Thanks.

Attachments

• D616F113-05C2-4A85-9ED0-C1B8C9EBDC5E.jpeg
    D616F113-05C2-4A85-9ED0-C1B8C9EBDC5E.jpeg
    101.9 KB · Views: 18
  • 1D520592-76BC-4FF6-9D60-975547C7DF48.jpeg
    1D520592-76BC-4FF6-9D60-975547C7DF48.jpeg
    79.8 KB · Views: 18
Hello,

I have zero experience with electrics (sorry!).... so I’m assuming that’s why there are extra wires?

Your assumption is incorrect....
The number of cables / wires at any light fitting depends upon the wiring arrangements and methods adopted by whoever originally installed it.

The basic problem that the majority of DIY'ers have when thinking that changing a light is just three wires,
is that they forget (or never knew), for a light to be able to switch on and off, (rather than being on permanently)..
somewhere there MUST connections for:-

Permanent Live.
Switched Live.
Neutral.
Earth.

These may all be at the light / at a switch / or at a junction box somewhere else..

Additionally if there are multiple lights on the circuit and/or worked from the same switch,
there could be additional connections extending these functions as well..