Complete noob looking to get solar panel advice on value

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AttackTitan

Reaction score
With the rising cost of electric im wondering if it would be worth getting solar panels fitted, we go through alot more electric then your average house due to old grandmother constantly requiring to be kept warm. Probably around 8000kw per yer maybe more. I don't know anyone who has had solar panels fitted but ive seen online post saying they can generate 6000kw per yr. But im guessing that will be in optimal conditions. I live in the middle of England in a semi detached house with N E and west facing roof so im qurious as to how much what systems can generate and what the cost involved are.
If anyone has them any advice will be appreciated

Solar panels are great, the down side off them especially in your situation, is that at the exact time of year that you need most heating happens to be when the daylight hours are at their shortest and darkest.
In the middle of summer I can generate a max of about 10kWh per day, I am averaging about 3 or 4 kWh just now, in Dec, Jan and Feb a lot of the time I was lucky to generate 1kWh per day.
Other considerations are shading and roof orientation.

We've got solar and whats most interesting is that you use more than you think when the sun isn't shining. Use of timers on white goods helps, as does the device that sends excess production to our immersion giving us free hot water

Feb production was 176kw
Jan was 111 kw
Dec was 54kw
Nov was 131kw

April 2021 was the highest production @ 484 kw and for the year it was 3.5 mw

Looking at Feb there were days when the production was under 1 kw and the highest was 17 kw

Our panels are facing almost due south with no shading

For many people the sums do not add up