Contactors and relays

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Electron1

Reaction score
Hi all,I am new to the trade. I am studying at collage and work as an apprentice!

Could some one please help me with how contactors and relays work!

What are they used for?

What's there benefits?

When would u use them?

Last edited by a moderator:
To switch heavy or multiple loads via a lower rated switching circuit.

Cost saving on switch gear & cable

Banks of florries/heating/roller doors/timer circuits.

Can u tell me more please! When for example would u use it for lighting? How would a contactor be wired?

?

Have you seen a contactor? Well they come in varying sizes & poles

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Images/Products/size_3/WYMESB20.JPG

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Images/Products/size_3/WYMESB40.JPG

They act as a switch turning on large loads (look on the front of the units & you'll see a simple diagram), but the switch (coil of the contactor, terminals A1 & A2) is triggered by a much lower rated circuit..

So you could have for arguments sake 100 highbays lights wired in 10mm circuit cable through the contactor, but the contactor coil is operated by a small 3 amp switch circuit.

Or if you know how the coil could be switched using a logic driven voltage;

Our older stuff is a BT signal-logic triggered 24v pulse to elv relay - pulses 230v to latch in a tematron timer - timer triggers contactor coils for all lighting in the building, bay door opening, sounders.

The new kit is BT signal-logic triggered 24v pulse to 24v actuated din mounted timer - switches 230v 5amp circuit to trigger contactor coils for all lighting in the building, bay door opening, sounders........

Canoe is the panel man & could probably go further with that type of use...