CTEC CFA Panel - Open Circuit Issue

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

Status
Not open for further replies.

kylesmith10

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Hi,
I've got a 4-zone CTEC CFA Series panel, installed today (I'm no technican) - however, there's a fault reporting an 'open circuit'.

Can anyone see a issue with my photo? I've added the end of lines resistors as you can see. I haven't touched any MCP's or detectors, only just installed the wiring from the zones into the new panel.

The old panel was a menvier panel, is it incompatible or something?

Photo

Thanks
 

kylesmith10

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Some good points which I didn't consider, I have since decided to disconnect ALL zones, including the sounder and put the EOL's - this will enable me to have a blank start, I did this and it still triggers an open circuit, please see the photo. Thank you

 

Richard-the-ninth

Moderator
Staff member
TEF Moderator
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
1,153
Reaction score
96
kylesmith10 said:
(I'm no technican)
Then why are you working on a life safety device?

Admit defeat, and call a local fire alarm company to do the job properly.
 

kylesmith10

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Then why are you working on a life safety device?

Admit defeat, and call a local fire alarm company to do the job properly.
This is a P2 system to 'protect building' not an L system to protect life - I would call someone out but unfortunately do not have the budget.
 

Fleeting

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
699
Reaction score
81
This is a safety system and that is a total lash up, no offence meant. The mains supply is non-compliant, cpcs have been chopped out, a single sounder circuit etc. etc.... I hope you have the budget to defend yourself when it doesn't work as it should in a fire situation and someone does.
 

Richard-the-ninth

Moderator
Staff member
TEF Moderator
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
1,153
Reaction score
96
P2 is for high risk areas, high risk means the area can easily catch fire, if it does catch fire it will warn people to evacuate.
You may have the best of intentions, but when it goes wrong, questions will be asked, and it will be YOU that will have to answer them.

Get a professional in, it will save money in the long run.

If your car didn't stop as fast as it did, would you ignore it and hope you stop in time, or take it to someone who knows how to fix it.
 

Fleeting

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
699
Reaction score
81
This is a P2 system to 'protect building' not an L system to protect life - I would call someone out but unfortunately do not have the budget.
What type of building is it then is it then?
 

Fleeting

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
699
Reaction score
81
Yes, used to store items such as furniture etc - 8 smoke detectors in each 1 with the panel in the office (portacabin). Thanks
Okay fair enough but it doesn't change the fact your skills and knowledge of fire alarm systems leave something to be desired. I assume you have no knowledge of BS5839:1.
Having manual call points also calls for emergency lighting.
 

kylesmith10

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Okay fair enough but it doesn't change the fact your skills and knowledge of fire alarm systems leave something to be desired. I assume you have no knowledge of BS5839:1.
Having manual call points also calls for emergency lighting.

As there is no legal requirement to have a system - I didn't know / think it needs certifying - to be honest, the system is more just for our internal purpose to keep the furniture in the containers safe than anything. I would love to get this issue fixed, if you can advise that would be great but appreciate if you want to sit this one out.
 

Fleeting

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
699
Reaction score
81
Why has the system been installed, a risk assessment, an insurance requirement or just a decisions you have ad hoc made. Is there actually a fire risk and if a fire occurred in one would it affect the other containers. Where is the risk of fire, are there electrical systems in place within the containers.
 

kylesmith10

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Why has the system been installed, a risk assessment, an insurance requirement or just a decisions you have ad hoc made. Is there actually a fire risk and if a fire occurred in one would it affect the other containers. Where is the risk of fire, are there electrical systems in place within the containers.
It was based on a risk assessment due to some users brining / storing flammable liquids including oil-based paint, petrol etc.
We ask that nothing like this is stored on site but that's a different issue as we cannot go checking what is in each container and unfortunately, due to the containers being right next to each other, a fire in one, would effect the other ones. There is no electrics within the container with the exception of the fire alarm system.
 

Fleeting

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
699
Reaction score
81
You need an electrician who is competent with fire alarm systems to install this in a compliant manner.
 

JSM

New member
Joined
Mar 28, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
You should really get an accredited company to carry out works if possible.
 

Richard-the-ninth

Moderator
Staff member
TEF Moderator
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
1,153
Reaction score
96
The OP clearly said
(I'm no technican)

In other words he is trying to work on a life safety system when he has no electrical knowledge or skills, and obviously no idea how a fire alarm works.

As several members have said he needs specialist knowledge to do the job correctly. With that in mind and the fact kylesmith10 has no clue, I can not allow poor/incorrect advice to be posted, so I am locking this thread.

If however you want to add something please send me a PM with your exact message and providing it is constructive I will allow you to post it.
Keysmith10 you are more than welcome to add something, but you must send me a PM first.

;)

 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest posts

Top