DC current ?????

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

sparkss

DNO Jointer
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
143
Reaction score
0
im trying to measure if teh motobike charger is giving out the correnct current.

ive got teh multimeter set to DC A and have placed it in series on the + lead to the battrey,is this right or am i doing something wrong

help please

thanks

sparkks

 
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
9,994
Reaction score
0
Location
In the office again.
im trying to measure if teh motobike charger is giving out the correnct current.ive got teh multimeter set to DC A and have placed it in series on the + lead to the battrey,is this right or am i doing something wrong

help please

thanks

sparkks
That sounds ok to me; as long as the meter is capable of handling the current in question.

*** my apologies if this is a daft question; but you HAVE put the leads in the "amps" socket on the meter; rather than common volt/ohm/milliamp??***

 

steptoe

of course Im wrong, ask my wife™
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
24,337
Reaction score
117
Location
Gtr Manchester
best/easiest way is a DC clamp meter to be honest.

tho a multimeter will do ok, does it have a 10amp scale?

remember that the charging circuit 'appears' to flow backwards.

+ on meter to rectifier, - on meter to + on battery, in series as you rightly say.

 

davetheglitz

Electrician
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
822
Reaction score
1
Location
Saltash, Cornwall
Just check you are using the right terminals on the multimeter - a lot of them have a seperate connection for the amps range - other than that all looks fine to me!

 

sparkss

DNO Jointer
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
143
Reaction score
0
thanks guys i had the lead in the wrong socket oppsss :)

sparkss

 
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
9,994
Reaction score
0
Location
In the office again.
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! :eek: theres always one with a juvenile mind to lower the tone of a sensible, educational, forum isn't there?! X( :^O :^O:^O:^O:^O
Now now........... Don`t go waking HIM up again.

Hey, wiz. Can you alter his user name to "uber-god" when he`s not looking????

 
Top