Do You Spend Lots Of Time Finding Parts And Comparing Prices From Suppliers?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hflowerdewFM

Reaction score
Hey everyone

I'm an electrician based in Essex and waste so much time hunting down and picking up parts from my local suppliers I was thinking of a way I could make less time consuming.

I’ve come up with an idea, and wanted to see what you guys think and if it could be helpful at all for you guys?

The idea is basically a free service where you would call or text 1 number with a list of the items you needed and your current location. 15-30minutes later, we’d get back to you with the prices from all the suppliers you work with (+more), and the distance of each supplier from your location.

I'm thinking the service can help save time phoning multiple suppliers to check stock or prices and save driving time by recommending the closest supplier.

Would love to see if this is helpful for you? If you think it would, please let me know here! 

Thanks a lot guys, and look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Humphrey

Last edited by a moderator:
Well for that to,work, and you to make money ( not on advertising ) then the suppliers that submits the prices. ANd later on the supplier that actually fulfils the order MUST be paying you a cut, yes?

If so,I would prefer to think that my suppliers offered me the best available price at the time. If later on I found that I had been spanked then I WOULD NOT be making that supplier my first port of call in the future. My plan may well,be flawed....but it has worked for 40+ years to date

CEF and Edmondsons fell off my prefered suppliers list decades ago....they contact me begging to get back on...it won't happen. IF I have to lower myself to trade with them then I will pay cash AND Expect a discount.