Extra Low Voltage: 10 out of 30 downlights dont work. Guidence Needed Please.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick182

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Background: Im new to the game. New to the forum I have just completed level 2 and 3 city and guilds 2330 and 17th edition. Had no luck gaining employment So I have now gone self employed. eeek

Anyways, Long story short. Could someone shed some guidence on the subject of E.L.V systems and transformers in a commercial shop?

Heres my situation.

My client who owns a massage/spa/Fish pedicure place (including 6-8 fish tanks) has a problem with 10 random 35W (either gu10 or MR16) downlights

-10 downlights in 3 rows

- Dimmer switch (which needs replacing.) Is rated at 500w/400va

-Theres no where accessible to change the transformers and I didnt have a ladder big enough to check the transformer rating which im guessing is now connected to the downlight.

-Lamps have only recently been changed by the maintenance man.

According to the (3phase) Circuit Board chart theres:

Shop lighting one Theres 19 points served. So I am also guessing this would be the circuit for the downlights.

Shop Lighting two Theres 9 points served.

Shop lighting three Theres 5 points served.

Window Lightingtheres 6 points served.

With all rated at 10A protective device.

Here are my questions:

A) If theres no where accesible for the transformers and theres no transformers on the back of the downlight. Would this mean that I have to get up on the floor above and start ripping off the floor boards to access these? I dont see any other way