FCU on Cooker Circuit

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

DCM2039

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
1st Post and wondering if someone can help

Today I removed a stand alone cooker and hob from between two kitchen units and found that the cooker outlet behind had a FCU connected to it. The FCU is supplied from the cooker outlet by a 4mm T&E and the cooker outlet is supplied with a 6mm T&E coming from the cooker isolator. The cooker also has a 6mm cable going into the Outlet. The FCU isn

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
1st Post and wondering if someone can helpToday I removed a stand alone cooker and hob from between two kitchen units and found that the cooker outlet behind had a FCU connected to it. The FCU is supplied from the cooker outlet by a 4mm T&E and the cooker outlet is supplied with a 6mm T&E coming from the cooker isolator. The cooker also has a 6mm cable going into the Outlet. The FCU isn
 

Theorysparky

Domestic Electrician
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
4,233
Reaction score
0
Welcome to the forum mate from the day shift

this set up is ok

as long as the fcu has the correct fusing and cable for the appliance it is feeding

 

Theorysparky

Domestic Electrician
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
4,233
Reaction score
0
Mr S

you hadnt replied when i started composing

makes my post a bit limp :)

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
Concur with those two ^.

Welcome to the forum from the Day & Night Shift. :D

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
Mr Syou hadnt replied when i started composing

makes my post a bit limp :)
I saw you posting and pipped you to the post! :p

 

DCM2039

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the quick replies guys, very helpful. And for making me feel welcome to your forum. I hadn

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
:^O

You're not having any of my Twix now - for stirring. X(

:^O

 

DCM2039

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the reply Mr Sworld and very informative too.

Unfortunately, my other half has now decided that she doesn

 
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
9,994
Reaction score
0
Location
In the office again.
Hi mate.

Right. If you`ve got a 13A socket on the cooker unit, you add 5A to the total.

You take 10A to start, then 30% of the remainder - ergo:

10.3KW @230V =44.79A

minus the 10A already accounted above, leaves 34.79A

30% of this =10.44A

Add together 10A, 10.44A and 5A(if socket outlet)

gives 25.44A after diversity

OK?

n.b. I`d STILL change the 3036 for a plug-in MCB though!

KME

 
Top