Gas Bonding Dilemma, Please Help!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reeceyp123

Reaction score
Hi, I am an electrician and I work for a housing society.

I am on the dlf team rewiring properties. One of the electricians from the maintenance department asked me why I've bonded the gas at the meter because he's doing a periodic and he's classed it as c2 unsatisfactory and unsafe.

The properties are flats and the meters are street level. I used to connect within 600mm of the pipe entering the building but my boss asked me to bond to the gas meter outside because the plumbers are failing to locate the clip and deeming it to be non compliant.

My colleague says because the bonding is outside the equipotential zone it is dangerous and the same as non bonded.

My boss is going mental because he won't sign off the periodic.

My questions are (eventually).

1. Does this present a danger?

2. Is this non compliant to bs7671?

3. Should it be a c2 or c3 on a periodic?

544.1.2 (amd 1, dont have amd3 with me but i doubt its changed)

'....shall be made within 600mm of the meter outlet union or at the point of entry to the building if the meter is external.'

so you putting i outside is non compliant. put it inside as per 7671 and tell the plumbers they are idiots

Never a C2, C3 at worst, yes it should be within the equipotential zone, but, the muppet plumbers are incapable of finding it unless it's in the meter enclosure.

I would ignore this if I was working on the property, if doing an EICR, no way a C2, I just could not justify it

1. No

2. Yes

3. C3

Also,

1. Since when did we start becoming governed by plumbers?

2. It has never been permissible to bond outside the house in meter boxes (since I have been in the game) but is very commonly done.

3. Why is this guy signing off your work with an EICR?

Don't see a major issue.