Help fitting kitchen lights

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickjett

Reaction score
Ok this has probably been asked before..so im sorry but im really struggling. Im not an electrician by the way lol

Im trying to fit two new light fittings in the kitchen. Ill name them kitche 1 and Kitchen 2

I managed to get the Kitchen 1 working..it took a while of trial and error. I dont have a multimeter so had to manually try each wire to find the live one from the switch. Downstairs i have lounge, hall, kitchen and garage.

at the minute the lights that work are the lounge, hall and Kitchen 1.

Now the kitchen 2 i have tried all three black wires and none of them seem to work. there was a point where the kitchen 2 came on and the kitchen 1didnt no idea what i did. I also had another scenario where the kitchen 1 and kitchen 2 and garage light blinked continually. Hall and lounge lights where fine.

At the minute kitchen 2 light fixing is hanging from the ceiling. If i remove it is there a way i can test the setup by making sure certain wires touch each other? For example If kitchen 1 is fitted correctly and i make sure where kitchen 2 fixing would be...all of the 3 red wires are touching each other then make sure all three black are touching, should that mean my garage lights should work? Im sure i have done this but it didnt work

Sorry if some of that doesnt make sense

This is the main reason God put cameras on phones. Take pictures of/and label EVERYTHING BEFORE randomly disconnecting/reconnecting. Too late now, I know....just saying

You need to,tell,us the previous switchingbarrangement
What there is at each light i.e. Grey cable with red and black,cores
Did any of the black wires have a bit of red tape on them
Single,switch or double,switch

Try posting a pic of what you have