Help with my setup

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andy1733

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to solar PV and thought the best way to learn is joining a forum. I've been considering solar for the past 12 month and now I have the funds I have started purchasing items o would need.

Location. I have a STD 1930s 3 bed semi. In my garden I have 2 outbuildings. One 140 block garage 32ft X 10ft and a workshop 20ft X 20ft Alos built from 140 blocks. These form a L shape approx 40ft from my house. Roof is corrugated tin and it's south facing.
Armoured cable runs to the garage from my house consumer unit. Into a garage cu.
I have just received 15 new renesola jc255m panels. Each panel is 255w 37.5ov and 8.8ah

I have also just purchased the renusol mounting kit for the above panels. I plan to mount them 3 wide X 5 deep (15 panels) on the garage section of the roof.

Theses will go to the Solis 3.6k-48es hybrid inverter.

Question I have is. I plan to run the panels in series.
Which is best.
3x5 panels. (One I was going to use)
5x3 panels.
2x7 panels. (Only use 14 panels)
Does it make a difference?
Also The Solis inverter accepts 2 string inlets from the solor panels. Should I use both or just one?
Tbh I have loads of questions.

Tbh I have loads of questions.
at the risk of sounding rude, you havn't a clue :D

OK, Solis have 2 MPPTs so use both of them, the strings do not have to have the same number of panels on each 8x37.5 (is that the VoC figure) is 300V so well within the Solis spec of 600V VoC will be a bit higher but still well within spec.

What is size is the cabe feeding the garage? What RCd protection do yuo have on the boards supplying the garage - this is an important safety question.

at the risk of sounding rude, you havn't a clue :D