Home Battery Charging

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mach13

Reaction score
I'm new to solar and Battery stuff. and am considering having 4KW panels with a SolaX 5.8KW battery and a 3.6kw inverter

One of the aims is to use the Octopus Go rate that i have to charge the battery overnight during winter.

I also have a hybrid car that uses a smart charger drawing max 3.6kwh that I intend to charge at the same time.

Q: Is the system likely to cope with them both charging at the same time or will I have to offset their charge times? or is there another tree i should be barking up?

Q: is it possible/usual to pre-set depletion and charge amounts .ie keeping the battery between 20-80 %?

Q: anything else i should be considering before I buy?

Thoughts appreciated

I'm new to solar and Battery stuff. and am considering having 4KW panels with a SolaX 5.8KW battery and a 3.6kw inverter
Welcome aboard

One of the aims is to use the Octopus Go rate that i have to charge the battery overnight during winter.
I do the same, both winter and summer though!

I also have a hybrid car that uses a smart charger drawing max 3.6kwh that I intend to charge at the same time.
Does it have a dedicated wall box, is it solar compatible eg like ZAPPI?

Q: Is the system likely to cope with them both charging at the same time or will I have to offset their charge times? or is there another tree i should be barking up?
The 3.6kWh inverter is it's output, potentially your car could consume all of it. The other side of the inverter is the charge controller which will take the energy from the solar PV use what is required to feed the output and any surplus fed into the battery. In my view the inverter size is too small, 6kW would be more appropriate, with the car on charge, switch the kettle on and you've exceeded 3.6kW with ease.