How a foreigner can get C&G qualifications in UK

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rafaelsaraiva

Reaction score
Hi ppl, I'll move to London soon, I have some years of experience as electrician in Portugal but I am a bit worried because I don't know wether I can get C&G 17th edition in UK or not, anyone knows how to get it?

Thanks for ur help.

Not sure Mate.Any idea, Chaps?
That has to be worth a scooby snap for that reply :^O :^O:^O

Sorry mate but the beers are going down nicely at the mo

]:)

Hi ppl, I'll move to London soon, I have some years of experience as electrician in Portugal but I am a bit worried because I don't know wether I can get C&G 17th edition in UK or not, anyone knows how to get it?Thanks for ur help.
Hi raf... welcome to the forum..

Not sure m8?

have you tried contacting C&G themselves?

I did a quick search & they have a web site..

which also has international links?

http://www.cityandguilds.com/cps/rde/xchg/SID-88936CE7-E598C8FF/cgonline/hs.xsl/CentreSearchResults.html?fCountrySearch=true&PARTGROUP=City+%26+Guilds&fQualificationID=2360&fQualificationType=Vocational&fQualificationName=Electrical+Installation+%28Old+programme%29&fQualificationLevel=&fCountry=Portugal

as said I have no personal experience but the C&G staff may be able to point you in the right direction??

http://www.cityandguilds.com/cps/rde/xchg/SID-88936CE7-E598C8FF/cgonline/hs.xsl/9778.html

you may be able to get your qualifications verified to a UK standard,

you deffo wont just get a swap to a C&G certificate without doing the C&G exam, but if your papers are up to date you may either be offered a short course, 1day, or a letter of equivalency(which isnt worth jack TBH).

I have a few european exams and in the end its down to actually doing the C&G papers,

and of course you will also need a UK health and safety exam too.