Is that right?!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WetBehindEars

Reaction score
Hi, this is probably the wrong section.

I am an apprentice, and recently started with a firm. Just your basic installs so far.

The guy im working with does some questionable things, with one specific job in mind.

We have been asked to add a sub board in a garden garage, for basic power ring and lighting circuit to run TV, sky box,  PC etc (a mancave) there was already a cable running from the front of the house to the back supplying just one socket (40A breaker) but it got condemned (hence the request) my guy is saying it will be ok to use the same cable (4mm) up until the garden, then junction it into (4mm) SWA? Then add the sub board and run everything from that. Does the sub board not need its own earth point because he is saying the main board's earth is fine? And is it ok to chops and change cable half way through a run?

Im a little confused?

Thanks 

It’s called a breach joint, done right it’s OK. The armouring and if a CPC is installed have to be contiguous throughout.

I’ve done these joints in mainly industrial situations. There’s nothing to stop this method of power supply so long as the OCPD is rated for the smallest cable installed.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks Tony, that makes sense. So would the CPC cover the earthing from the sub board to the main board?

A 4mm is a pretty weedy cable to feed a man cave.  I would be wanting something much more substantial.

It certainly should never have been fed from a 40A mcb and hope at least now it is on something very much smaller.

What does the customer say?  Have they been led to believe they are getting a good supply to the man cave?

Customer doesnt have a clue. I think the breaker is a 40A RCD to the sub, which the main breaker is 100A.