mete tails in cavity wall

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tu1982

Reaction score
hello

im doing a house rewire and currently the fuse board is directly on the other side of the meter(which is outside) this means its in the kitchen cupboard at low level.

This is a daft position for a fuse board and i was thinking about moving it to high level, so that any future addition circuits can be easily added without trunking or chasing that will ruin the kitchen!!! i am wondering if its ok to put the meter tails in the cavity wall only up about 2 metres?, its also stupid to chase them in the wallobvious reasons!!, so any advice is much appreciated?!! i presume this way is ok as long as there is no cavity wall insulation to afect able rating.

im mainly a commercial electrician and will get this certified via my boss. it just means im not clued up on the domestic regs.

cheers for any help!

thanks andy c ive read that thread it not very clear!

some people say seem to think its ok some people dont, if the people are 100% sure of not having cavity insulation in the future does it matter? its a family member so its not like i cant tell them! and they wont be moving!

it also says in one of those posts that meter tails are exempt, (wozz say this)

thanks and its good to be on the forum

thanks andy c ive read that thread it not very clear!some people say seem to think its ok some people dont, if the people are 100% sure of not having cavity insulation in the future does it matter? its a family member so its not like i cant tell them! and they wont be moving!

anything before the meter, i.e service cable, cable from head to meter is upto DNO. anything after than is BS7671.