Minimum Quals for own re-wire

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DarthFeder

Reaction score
Good Afternoon Gents

Hope I could get a bit of guidance as I'm reading contradictory information online. I have been an Electrical Systems Engineer in the marine industry for 6 years, mainly working on HV propulsion systems but I have no domestic qualifications. I've just been quoted £4000 to rewire my house. Whole lot needs ripping out, still has the old wire fuse panel etc. Can you tell me what I would need to do to legally rewire my own home? I've looked at the domestic installer (18 day) course but from what I can see that doesn't qualify you to change a consumer unit, even though it's covered on the course. I have no intention to do any work for anyone , just my own home. I know id need 18th edition, building regs etc. 

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you

£4K for a rewire sounds low tbh but if you consider a short course that won’t teach you much will be around £7k then the rewire looks good value especially when you add in the part p fees, proper tester etc etc

maybe ask the chap that’s quoted if he would allow you to help / do some of the work to save money

Last edited by a moderator:
£4K for a rewire sounds low tbh but if you consider a short course that won’t teach you much will be around £7k then the rewire looks good value especially when you add in the part p fees, proper tester etc etc

maybe ask the chap that’s quoted if he would allow you to help / do some of the work to save money
Thanks for your swift reply. Ah yes, it was a "guesstimation" over the phone but the guys got very good reviews so I'd trust it to be close. Property is in the North east.