MVHR & New Electrical Installation

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a new member so forgive any mistakes, but wonder if anyone can help advise me, I am a retired electrician doing a full renovation with a rewire of a property. I engaged an approved electrical contractor to carry out all wiring and installation of a whole house MHVR system.

Re the MVHR; (Vent Axia Kinetic) with three bathrooms in my home, the contractor only put one small semi flexible duct to each of the two wings (each extension has a bathroom and bedroom in it) I questioned how you can put warm dirty air from the bathroom, and then warm clean air into the bedroom down the same duct.

The answer was, 
As for the ventilation the fan that gets fitted in the bathroom have an external baffel and filter so that it cleans the wet air in itself and pushes the clean
air back through into the ducting system. Which is done at 2nd fix stage. I picked this system due to the complexity of running 2 additional pipes to
each wing, which cost wise on labour and ducting would be more expensive as well.

Am I wrong thinking this will not work right, how can cold air go down the same pipe as warm air is coming out of?

Paying several thousand pounds for this system alone I worry this will not give the efficiency promised. Suddenly I was informed after the roofer finished I needed to install vents in the slate roof, the electrician supplied these plastic vents but now says it an extra.

Onto wiring, so many parts I worry about, in my day you would never run low voltage cables (telephone, alarm, AV, etc) with ring main cables, supply cables, especially in the same holes, the answer is they are double insulated, and will not be an issue.