nic cert

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stringy

Reaction score
just been looking at some nic certs getting use to filling them out, there is one part which is varification of volt drop

now lets say your doing a pir and have no idear of the length of run of the circuit how are you surpose to calculate the volt drop?

or am i being thick? lol

cheers

hi kme

sorry for sounding thick but im new to testing done a bit but i struggle to understand the rusults as this time.

you say i know the length by the r1+r2 can you explain a bit more please.

thanks mate

How is this done on a ring cct, who knows what is going to be plugged in?

hi kmesorry for sounding thick but im new to testing done a bit but i struggle to understand the rusults as this time.

you say i know the length by the r1+r2 can you explain a bit more please.

thanks mate
OK......

You know the cable size......

For a moment, suppose a radial (lighting OR power)

When you do r1+r2 at the furthest point, you get the resistance of the cable between the two points. OSG gives resistance of a given size of conductor (per metre).

Therefore, you can determine the length of the circuit. This is also a way of determining length when commisioning; as the length is necessary to calculate voltage drop.

I don`t have OSG here at the mo, but I`ll post an example tomorrow, unless one of my colleagues beats me to it........

Hope that helps mate.

KME

Evening all,

May i be bold enough to suggest taking a measurement of voltage at the cu, as you will be measuring Ze, psc, and then another measurement at the end of each circuit, on ring circuit, Zs will indicate furthest point, you will then be able to calculate if voltdrop exceeds the given %..

Must put on my ppe as I may get shot to piecesPray

Macca

Anyway have plenty of these to keep me going.

Guiness DrinkGuiness DrinkGuiness Drink