Overloaded Ring Main !!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ohms97

Reaction score
Hi to everyone on the forum. đź‘Ť

I am new to this forum and I am currently a trainee electrician. I love everything about the electrical industry and would like to start building knowledge with work colleague and forums when need to ask certain questions about jobs. 

So the 1st question I have is how much load can be on a ring main. Doing a simple calculation V*I I get 7680watts. But how does this work with diversity and in a kitchen ring main. My parents have had there kitchen renovated with painted doors and new work tops but have added in a larder unit which will house a combi microwave/grill. Now I am looking to plug this into the existing Kitchen ring main. The current house set up is 

Oven/cooker - 32amp MCB

1st floor sockets - 32amp MCB

2nd floor sockets - 32amp MCB

kitchen/utility sockets - 32amp MCB

1st floor lights - 6amp 

2nd floor lights - 6amp

heating - 6amp 

currently on the kitchen/utility ring is 

washing machine - 2.2kw 

dishwasher - 2.1kw 

drier - 2.2kw 

cooker hood - 80watts

utilty fan- 30watt 

kettle - 3kw 

toaster 1.5kw 

1xdouble socket