passive and florries

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

dougal

Well-known member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
178
Reaction score
0
can you use a passive infra red to control a florrie or will it require a new fitting

 

SPECIAL LOCATION

Trailer Boy - Electrician.
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,633
Reaction score
317
can you use a passive infra red to control a florrie or will it require a new fitting
First of all..

Ruddy good Avatar there M8 Applaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud Smiley

It just so happens I have a PIR here ready to fit on job later this week...

the bit of paper inside says

load:

2000w Tungsten Halogen (4 x 500w)

1000w Incandescent (10 x 100w)

500w fluorescent.

So I say

YES! :D ;)

thats an 'IQ' E-700 PIR by the way!

;)

 

steptoe

of course Im wrong, ask my wife™
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
24,385
Reaction score
152
Location
Gtr Manchester
oh, good to know that, suppose that may only be relevant to that specific pir tho,

I could never get my head round the weird inductance way florries work TBH, they just do. :)

 

Lee321

Distinguished Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Messages
2,144
Reaction score
0
isn't there a minimum wattage too? Some small flourescents don't use much power...
you have a number of florrys upto 500W on that particular pir

 

steptoe

of course Im wrong, ask my wife™
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
24,385
Reaction score
152
Location
Gtr Manchester
while we are on the subject of florries,

how do i get a florrie to put out less light?!

600mm reflected diffuser twin tube recessed fitting, about 10 of them in an office and the staff are complaining that too much light, any ideas on what to do?

can I get any benefit from fitting a different spectrum of tube?

am not sure whats in at mo but going in morning to have a look before office opens.

 

SPECIAL LOCATION

Trailer Boy - Electrician.
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,633
Reaction score
317
isn't there a minimum wattage too? Some small flourescents don't use much power...
Don't think minimum is too much of an issue..

It is with Dimmers...

but a PIR... think its more a question of switch on load surge..

bit like that thread about type B-C MCB's...

Florries would have more of an initial switch on surge.?

especially if you have 500watts worth...

thats a few florries!

e.g. 8 x 5ft 58w tubes = 464watt!

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
Only real way to get florries to output less is to dim them. However it requires specialised control gear to replace the choke.... You can't just hook them up to a dimmer switch.

I've spent many hours looking into this as our 700+ dimmable florries in the venue used phase dimming which is no longer made (and the few that are left in the country are at an asking price of

 

dougal

Well-known member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
178
Reaction score
0
First of all..Ruddy good Avatar there M8 Applaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud Smiley

It just so happens I have a PIR here ready to fit on job later this week...

the bit of paper inside says

load:

2000w Tungsten Halogen (4 x 500w)

1000w Incandescent (10 x 100w)

500w fluorescent.

So I say

YES! :D ;)

thats an 'IQ' E-700 PIR by the way!

;)
thanks for the replies guys

i will check the pir

you all deserve a Guiness Drink

 

SPECIAL LOCATION

Trailer Boy - Electrician.
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,633
Reaction score
317
Only real way to get florries to output less is to dim them. However it requires specialised control gear to replace the choke.... You can't just hook them up to a dimmer switch.I've spent many hours looking into this as our 700+ dimmable florries in the venue used phase dimming which is no longer made (and the few that are left in the country are at an asking price of
 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
So I guess you would say Oh poo! if you broke one of them! :^O :^O:^O
They are breaking all the time, we are loosing 5 to 10 fixtures each year we re-lamp. We don't say 'Oh poo', we say 'sod it'. :_|

 

Apache

Cow Fiddler ™
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
17,011
Reaction score
21
while we are on the subject of florries,how do i get a florrie to put out less light?!

600mm reflected diffuser twin tube recessed fitting, about 10 of them in an office and the staff are complaining that too much light, any ideas on what to do?

can I get any benefit from fitting a different spectrum of tube?

am not sure whats in at mo but going in morning to have a look before office opens.
steps - couldn't you remove a few tubes if twin tube fittings?

Is it not that simple?

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
Steps, you could go to a theatre supplier and get some rolls of gel. There are types that just diffuse the light rather than colour it. Won't be too hard to cut them to fit the fixtures.

Have a look here.

 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
454
Reaction score
0
while we are on the subject of florries,how do i get a florrie to put out less light?!

600mm reflected diffuser twin tube recessed fitting, about 10 of them in an office and the staff are complaining that too much light, any ideas on what to do?

can I get any benefit from fitting a different spectrum of tube?

am not sure whats in at mo but going in morning to have a look before office opens.
Have you tried using the encapsulated tubes - various shades/tints are available. I realise that the power consumption will not be reduced but it may provide an easy fix.

 

mysticalelectrickery

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
there is a min lux level for office spaces,measure the lux levels if you can or maybe change the tubes from daylight to coolwhite or go for a tube with a lower colour temp rating to reduce the glare. and as for putting them on a pir i would recomend you put them on a contactor then let the pir control the contactor that way - min power through the pir

 

benji

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
think you should check lux levels against recomended lux levels ,change colour of tubes ?then re-check lux levels.

passives &florries been fitting loads for weeks now no probs. just check the loads .

benji

 

mysticalelectrickery

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
or if you really want to be posh go for a DALI system with daylight energy saving!! the dog nuts but don't go for Philips they ****e - osram all the way baby

check this

link

for all lighting recomendations

 
Top