Personal Statement, Please Help!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

A_Kinsella

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a Teacher looking for a career change. I am looking to join an apprenticeship, and as such, I've been fixing up my CV and personal statements. I've gotten through a few drafts of the personal statement but the best way to check is to ask the experts- you guys. 

If you wouldn't mind, could you give it a once-over and tell me what you think? Feel free to go full Paxman/Cowell on it. No holds barred. Your help would be greatly appreciated. Note that the last two sentences of the first paragraph of the statement will be altered according to which company I am applying to.

Here goes!

Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to be considered to be an Electrical apprentice. As a graduate with a B.Sc. in Industrial and Environmental physics (2017) with many years’ experience teaching I believe I have a strong foundation in both the theory and practical knowledge of Electronics which I am keen to develop in a work setting. As an international Fortune 500 company, I would be privileged to do my apprenticeship and make my own small contribution of “advancing the world of health” with Becton Dickinson working at the forefront of medical technologies.

I want to become an electrician for the opportunity to work out of a desk setting. I want to work with my hands. I seek the job satisfaction of being able to see the tangible results of my labour after a day’s work. I want to work on various tasks from day to day. I want to be able to look at something I’ve made or repaired and be able to say “I did that.”