Providing Electric to Shed

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madmilner

Reaction score
Hi all, i am not an electrician, and wondered if you could offer some advice.

I have seen posts on this topic but none seem to answer my queries in full, hence my post. Actually i found this forum through googling the topic in hand and thought, hey, giving i am going to be training as an electrician starting sept this may be a good place to hang out and ask questions etc.

We have just had an extension done on our house, single storey across the back, basically a bigger kitchen and diner. We are at a stage where the 1st fix has been done by the sparky and we are waiting for the plasterer. And when i say wait, i mean WAIT. its been ages now, but thats a different story.

So part of the project is to landscape the garden, which i am doing. Of which i am getting a bigger shed(currently have one) and want to run electricity to it. I mentioned this to the sparky doing our work but at the time he alluded to simply spurring off a socket, out the wall and it was as vague as that. To be fair i said it was an idea and not a requirement at the time. I just wondered how it would be done and where cables would run from. i.e would a cable to be run from the main fuse box. He didnt mention this at all.

My requirement is to have a double socket where we would run a tumble dryer off and a socket there should we need to plug in stuff like mowers etc, maybe a 240V drill? who knows. Oh and a light. thats it, no fancy garden lights, hot tubs, showers, freezers etc, just keeping it simple.

Now, i am in the middle of landscaping and need to crack on with the foundations for the patio etc. At the rate the plasterer is moving i could well have this all done before the sparky comes back for the 2nd fix etc.