Question about Veritas alarm.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mystified

Reaction score
Hello.  

Wondering if someone could give me some advice on my Veritas alarm.  

I recently had an extended power cut, when the power was restored, the alarm still worked.  A week later, I had another power cut lasting about two hours.  When power was restored, the alarm came on, though I noticed it was much quieter than it used to be - it used to be audible from outside, now I could just barely hear it from the room next to the alarm.  

The next day, the alarm just seemed to go completely dead, the keypad wasn't lit up, the chime didn't sound when I opened any doors.  I called Texecom, they thought it might be the battery due to the power cuts.  I have no electrical knowledge, so called out an SSAIB engineer to take a look.  The Engineer checked the battery, and confirmed that the battery was completely dead, and replaced the battery.  Keypad lit up, door chime sounded again.  The engineering code for the alarm is unknown - the alarm was already here when I moved in, but after the engineer called Texecom, it was confirmed that this wouldn't stop the alarm working.  

A few hours after the engineer left, the alarm went off again - as before, much quieter than it had been in the past.  Due to the codes having been changed from the default, I couldn't stop the alarm, though it stopped of it's own accord later (and it was so quiet, it was easy to ignore).  

The alarm is now dead again, despite the new battery.  I've called the SSAIB company, and am waiting for a call back.