RCBO Tripping

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_Bean

Reaction score
Hello all,

Please go easy, I have never used a forum before but this scenario has me stumped, having searched online for potential answers for some weeks and my electrician seemingly equally confused.

Some time ago I got an electrician to replace the consumer unit, from a rewireable fuse type. The layout of the new board (all BG products) is each of the 6 circuits connected through a 1 pole RCBO with a main isolating switch covering all circuits. Everything seemed to be ok when it was fitted with the electrician completing all his checks without there being any issues.

However, the garage socket (a single socket on a circuit all of its own, total length of cable 1m from the consumer unit with 16A RCBO) would regularly trip, even with double insulated items with no earth connection in the plug. Every one of the items which caused the garage circuit to trip would always work without issue when powered from any of the sockets in the house on a separate circuit (through exactly the same type of RCBO). After a short period of time the RCBO would no longer reset at all, even with nothing plugged into the circuit.

The electrician returned and fitted a new replacement RCBO and this also would regularly trip. So, we decided to replace the garage socket and short length of cable to eliminate any issues with the circuit, but it would still trip (new circuit is 1m of 2.5mm cable and 2 x double sockets). The electrician then fitted a slightly older RCBO (same make and specification but just a slightly older model) and it seemed to work. But every so often it would still trip, particularly if using a power tool and not allowing it to fully come to a stop before restarting, and now again the RCBO will not reset at all.