rewire

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

dean mac

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
117
Reaction score
1
Location
england
hi i would just like to ask when u do a rewire of a domestic property do the regs state u have to fit smoke alarms

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,618
Reaction score
296
hi i would just like to ask when u do a rewire of a domestic property do the regs state u have to fit smoke alarms
Building regulations require NEW & refurbished buildings to be fitted with mains operated smoke detectors..

But the wiring regs only give guidance as to the type of circuit it is recommend to supply a smoke detector circuit from.

On a re-wire... if the property already has sufficient battery operated smoke alarms, I think there is NO obligation to have to put mains one in..

Unless it had three or more floors... e.g. loft conversion..

whereby you must put in mains powered interlinked smokes!

I am sure one of the others with contradict me in some appropriate manner if I am talking with me pant on me head:p:( :)

 

Admin1

Forum Founder
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
10,278
Reaction score
-1
And "Welcome to the forum" from me too. :)

 

NWDS

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
167
Reaction score
0
This is the best forumApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud SmileyApplaud Smiley

 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
11,034
Reaction score
0
Welcome Dean Mac to forum.

My views on mains smoke detectors and rewires is they should be put in. You are upgrading the electric's so they should be brought in line with todays standards. I always think if the worst should happen and a house were to catch on fire after you had rewired it even if it had nothing to do with electric's at least you would have done your bit to prevent anyone from losing there lives. I have got to quote for a rewire due to fire damage over the weekend. Fires do happen so for the extra cost you should put them in.

batty

 

dean mac

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
117
Reaction score
1
Location
england
Welcome Dean Mac to forum.My views on mains smoke detectors and rewires is they should be put in. You are upgrading the electric's so they should be brought in line with todays standards. I always think if the worst should happen and a house were to catch on fire after you had rewired it even if it had nothing to do with electric's at least you would have done your bit to prevent anyone from losing there lives. I have got to quote for a rewire due to fire damage over the weekend. Fires do happen so for the extra cost you should put them in.

batty
wellsaid

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,618
Reaction score
296
Welcome Dean Mac to forum.My views on mains smoke detectors and rewires is they should be put in. You are upgrading the electric's so they should be brought in line with todays standards. I always think if the worst should happen and a house were to catch on fire after you had rewired it even if it had nothing to do with electric's at least you would have done your bit to prevent anyone from losing there lives. I have got to quote for a rewire due to fire damage over the weekend. Fires do happen so for the extra cost you should put them in.

batty
Indeed so batty.. ;)

Lets face it... the cost of cable and pulling it in is negligible if you are pulling in new lighting cables anyway...

(still got to lift that bit of floor)..

So mostly just the cost of the detectors & a bit of time to connect & test them...

In reality not much more than

 
Top