Running 6mm twin & earth cable.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Aside from being an electrician I also work in fire safety and whilst buildings have defined escape routes it has been argued that almost anywhere in a building could be included as an escape route, defined or not. If you are in a toilet, kitchen or anywhere and an evacuation situation occurs then the footfall from your location can be deemed your escape path. 

Dead end rooms such as toilets and bedrooms are not escape routes, they are places to escape from. How long are you likely to be in such a room with a fire? 

They are not defined escape routes but if as you say they are places to escape from they therefore create part of your escape route. The duration in which you occupy the space isn't relevant I was just pointing out that there is more to escape routes than those which are defined as such.

They are not defined escape routes but if as you say they are places to escape from they therefore create part of your escape route. The duration in which you occupy the space isn't relevant I was just pointing out that there is more to escape routes than those which are defined as such.

So...   if  "Duration" is not relevant...

How do we know how long is long enough when evaluating if something will fail "Prematurely"...????   :C

i.e.  Premature: Occurring, growing, or existing before the customary, correct, or assigned time; uncommonly or unexpectedly early:

Perhaps you could enlighten us with your wisdom as to exactly what is the measure of "premature failing" that you consider 521.10.202 refers..

Should our cables remain fixed if all other structures on a wall have been consumed by fire..?

Should our cables still be fixed if the roof has collapsed...? 

Should our cables be the last things standing after a property has been raised to the ground..?