Single phase to 3 phase question

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys I am an approved electrician but never come across this before. A customer wants to upgrade his single phase to 3 phase 100 amp supply.
The single phase supply that is there supplies his shop and upstairs flat that is privately owned.
New supply will feed a tp&n board as well as original shop board and original flat fuse board. I am concerned about metering arrangements ect. Can I run a 4 core armour to feed shop board (they are in another room from where new supply will be) Is that ok ?
TP&N board will only supply two three-phase sunbeds...easy doings as its just the TPN isolator - new TPN board and then a couple of tp&n isolators adjacent to sunbeds fed by suitably sized armour.

So Q1 was Can you supply two boards same phase from 1 4 core cable and use some type of ryefield board to split the 4 core into 2 core and earth?
Q2 is can uk power networks complete their work and reinstall meters in one visit or does the dno need to come and move the meters?

To be honest, I am going to pass this on to another as it comes at a busy time for me with family work and holiday stuff all coming up...but I DO want to know for future reference. I have done all sorts of sub mains ect on new builds but never in the situation where existing connections need removing and never with a 3rd party (upstairs flat in this case)...just wondering what you guys would do to leave an install such as the above in a "connection ready" state so that the uk power networks can do their thing.