Solar / Feed In Tariff Issue

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rockett

Reaction score
I’m not experienced with Solar Panels by any means so help/advice would be appreciated.

I moved into a new build house on a new development a couple of years ago, which has solar panels on the roof. At the time of buying, it was considered a bonus, with the housing developers telling me that we benefitted from free electricity during the hours of 07:00 to 19:00. Other than that, they were very cagy when probed with further questions about the setup, but in the haste of needing to move it wasn’t something of huge priority to me.

I later find out that the free electricity we receive is only what is being generated at that time. Any surplus build up at the end of the day gets put back into the grid.

A while ago I tried to register for a feed in tariff with our supplier British Gas, only to find out after a lot of form filling, that the property address has already been registered meaning I was not able to do so. I was a bit disgruntled but left it be.

I recently received a notification that First Utility (Siemens) had been round to read the meter (nobody in), followed by a letter asking to rearrange a reading (with a possible charge!) or our feed in tariff would be suspended. The letter was address to a person that I do not know.

But I do not have a feed in tariff I thought!

I then receive a letter from the company that installed the solar panels on behalf of the builders, requesting that I contact Siemens to arrange a reading in order to continue receiving free electricity.