Sunnyboy Inverter - Device Disturbance ...

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
My Sunnyboy SMA4000TL inverter is no longer outputting anything to the meter or grid.

Inverter is showing the following message. Device Disturbance ... restart in 300s [counting down in 10s intervals].
Nothing seems to happen after countdown.
Green light flashing 2s on 2s off. Red light on permanent.

Any ideas?
 

binky

eco warrior......™
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,660
Reaction score
519
Location
Sunny Plymouth
The fact it's trying to connect to the grid, and failing, suggests its the AC side. It wouldn't go through the delayed start routine if the DC side was at fault. It might be a fault with your grid supply, such as too high a voltage. You should be able to see what it thinks the grid voltage is on the display.
 

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Does this help at all (sorry about quality of shot but it was so bright I couldn't see my screen clearly!)

1655625083807.png


No tripped switches.

20220617_101558.jpg
 

binky

eco warrior......™
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,660
Reaction score
519
Location
Sunny Plymouth
If you tap on the display it lights up. Try a complete shut down of AC and DC, leave for 5 mins and reboot, it should run through several screens that give information about voltages.
 

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
If you tap on the display it lights up. Try a complete shut down of AC and DC, leave for 5 mins and reboot, it should run through several screens that give information about voltages.
Might a reboot sort it?

And if so, can I achieve this by a 5 min shutdown of AC only at night?

Reason I ask is that access to the inverter on the roof is via someone else's flat and although there is a right of access, they are abroad. The AC parts are in a communal hall so no problem accessing those.
 

binky

eco warrior......™
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,660
Reaction score
519
Location
Sunny Plymouth
Might a reboot sort it?

And if so, can I achieve this by a 5 min shutdown of AC only at night?

Reason I ask is that access to the inverter on the roof is via someone else's flat and although there is a right of access, they are abroad. The AC parts are in a communal hall so no problem accessing those.
Give it a go, you have nothing to lose.
 

stuboy

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2021
Messages
24
Reaction score
5
My guess would be the grid connect relay in the inverter, u know the bits that go chatter chatter chatter when the inverter connects. They are only rated for X amount of operations as they r a mechanical part. I suspect X has been reached!
 

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
My guess would be the grid connect relay in the inverter, u know the bits that go chatter chatter chatter when the inverter connects. They are only rated for X amount of operations as they r a mechanical part. I suspect X has been reached!
Thanks. Is that something which would identified on the LED display?
 

binky

eco warrior......™
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,660
Reaction score
519
Location
Sunny Plymouth
My guess would be the grid connect relay in the inverter, u know the bits that go chatter chatter chatter when the inverter connects. They are only rated for X amount of operations as they r a mechanical part. I suspect X has been reached!
the other possibility is a failed earth connection. I've had trouble with earthing SMAs before, and had to install an earth rod for the unit, connected to the outer casing.
 

binky

eco warrior......™
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,660
Reaction score
519
Location
Sunny Plymouth
Thanks. Is that something which would identified on the LED display?
it would probably be worth contacting the SMA technical helpline, don't be put off by the German number, they speak very good English, and last time I used that service, they had an ex-pat British fella dealing with the enquires.
 

roys

Gold Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,618
Reaction score
130
My guess would be the grid connect relay in the inverter, u know the bits that go chatter chatter chatter when the inverter connects. They are only rated for X amount of operations as they r a mechanical part. I suspect X has been reached!
That’s what went on my Sunnyboy the 1st time, replaced under warranty, 2nd time it died different fault and out of warranty I replaced it with a Solis 1/2 the price and same 5 year warranty.
 

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
That’s what went on my Sunnyboy the 1st time, replaced under warranty, 2nd time it died different fault and out of warranty I replaced it with a Solis 1/2 the price and same 5 year warranty.
Mine is about eleven years old. Terrible timing - lost about £750 in income!
 

brix

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
London
it would probably be worth contacting the SMA technical helpline, don't be put off by the German number, they speak very good English, and last time I used that service, they had an ex-pat British fella dealing with the enquires.
I'll try this.

The reset at night turning off only AC didn't seem to work.
 

Latest posts

Top