Supply To Combi Microwave Oven

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hex48

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post on this site so please be gentle. My background is electronics and am not a qualified sparks so I understand some of the issues and regs but clearly not all.

I have a problem and a potential solution but I would like to run it past a professional before asking my part P qualified relative to come over and sort it out.

In our kitchen we have a single electric oven, a combination microwave oven and an induction hob. The single oven and hob are hardwired to an adjacent 45a switched DP cabled in 6mm back to 30a fuse in CU. So far so good. The combination microwave is fed separately from the kitchen ring main via an FCU. The adjacent FCU outlet is cabled in 2.5mm to a 25A flex outlet plate behind the oven and the oven flex is hardwired into this.

Now comes the problem. The existing oven only required a 13a supply and although I believe the guidance suggests no more than 2.2kw on a final ring it was fine for 12 years without any problem.

The oven has now died and the cost of parts makes it uneconomical to repair so I am looking for a replacement. The siemens unit I am looking at with the larger grill and higher output microwave according to spec is rated at 3.6kW, 15A so it cannot be fed through the existing 13A FCU.

I imagine the optimum solution here is to provide a new radial supply from the CU fused at 16A to an adjacent cooker DP switch which will connect to the existing 25A flex outlet plate ( new oven is fitted with captive flex).  The immediate problem with this is that cabling to the CU will be awkward and messy and within the next year our bungalow will be extended and altered so cables will have to be moved/extended/replaced as necessary at that time.