SWA not earthed

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Noz,Missed the TT bit!

I only read the last post as I "thought" I had read the rest of the thread!!!

In which case the cable must be earthed supply end if you are splitting the earthing systems.

I'll go and re-read the thread.
I went back and checked the OP;)

He said that it had a rod

Thanks, anyone know where you can buy constant force springs?

Hi All,

I have to say, i am only a newbie, and have NO qualifications in electrical installation WHATSOEVER but all this sort of thing just makes me laugh.....

First off, What is the big deal here??? All you have to do is to re-terminate the house end properly with a suitable gland and an adaptable box [just like everyone else has said] and then TT the installation in the garage and either terminate the SWA at the garage end into a plastic box, or better still, [as it is stronger] use a steel one and terminate the cable using an insulating gland. [to keep the house earth system separate from the garage one]

How difficult can it be?????

There most certainly is a reg concerning all this:

542.1.8 [bRB] "Where a number of installations have separate earthing arrangements, any protective conductors common to any of these installations shall either be capable of carrying the maximum fault current likely to flow through them or be earthed within one installation only and insulated from the earthing arrangments of any other installation. In the latter circumstances, if the protective conductor forms part of a cable, the protective conductor shall be earthed only in the installation containing the associated protective device"