Teaching Electricity in Year 6 help

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badabinglad

Reaction score
Hi, I am a primary school teacher in the UK and I want to try and teach an objective and I'm struggling to find the knowledge/resources that I want.

The objective I want to understand as well as teach is essentially teaching that certain materials are better conductors than others and measuring their conductivity to prove this

I want to create a basic circuit with a 3V battery, wires and a multimeter which gives me a reading. I assumed that the more wires I put into the circuit, the lower the voltage reading would be, however it is not changing, regardless of where the battery is placed in the circuit. It is also only changing extremely marginally if I add in different materials into the circuit

For example, I added in the following materials into the circuit and this is what the multimeter reading still was

Copper - 2.11V

Alluminium - 2.13V

Stainless Steel 2.11V

Mild Steel - 2.07V

Brass 2.05V

Wood - 0.00V

Is this an accurate measurement? Or have I created a test which doesn't test the actual electrical conductivity of the materials?

I also thought more wires in the circuit would reduce the voltage reading because of the resistance in the cables? Have I misunderstood something? The first time I added a wire my reading increased from 2.13v to 2.15v

Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator:
Sorry to say you have proved nothing. 
I would suggest you look at Ohm’s law which will give you a basic understanding of the fundamental principles in the relationship between Volts, Current, Resistance. 
Once you understand this you will understand where you went wrong.