Testing and Certification of DIY work

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RolandK

Reaction score
Hi

Here is my first post on this forum!

I have a lot of experience of DIY electrics over the years and am confident to carry out most jobs. In the 'old days' I did total rewires of my own and family and friends homes. Always adhering to the regulations of the day. It was all simpler then. No RCD's, MCB's etc, etc, just good old rewireable fuses. I can almost hear the gasps of disbelief and shock from you professional electricians reading this!  Obviously I wouldn't consider it these days with the complexity and regulations being what they are. I'm also too old to be crawling around in lofts and floor spaces! However, with more regulation, Part P etc, I'm still not fully sure what the situation is with what I can and can't do 'legally'.

Specifically this time I want to spur off an existing ground floor ring circuit at the front and back of the house to put outdoor sockets fixed to the outside wall of the house. Can I put the following assumptions/questions to you guys please?

1. As this is an alteration to an existing circuit I assume it is not notifiable under Part P?

2. If not does the work need to be tested and certified by a qualified electrician (in effect meaning I can't do it myself)?

3, If I go ahead and do this the absence of the relevant certificates will be a problem any time I want to sell my house and possibly with my insurance.  

The CU was changed about 5 years ago to a modern split load unit with RCD's. No not by me! By a qualified sparks with all the paperwork in order.

I understand that most sparks won't want to test and certify my work and totally understand the reasons why.

Ta very much.

1. As this is an alteration to an existing circuit I assume it is not notifiable under Part P?