The old 'armored cable to a summer house' question again

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxpdaddy

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I am a Programmer and IT Engineer, but i studyied Electronics in College and i dabble in as much Electrical work as im allowed to from time to time, i do have basic qualifications in PAT testing but im not a trained electrician and certainly not Part P.

Anywho... my in-laws are looking to run power to their summer house half way across the garden, nothing too powerful in there, a flatscreen tv, radio, 1 or 2 lights (maybe an outside one) and other garden lights from the sockets if they have some sort of party etc. it is possible they might have a small heater down there but probably wont if they are advised against it.

A husband of a friend is Part P registered and is happy to connect up a circuit if we (I) do the digging / cable run but at the moment he is unavailable to answer questions.

Another friend of their's has kindly donated a good length of armored cable that looks to be about 2.5mm (it might be 4) but only twin core... my first question is can the steel braid on the cable be used as the earth? i think this has been answered in other posts i've seen but i'd like to be 100%

So the plan is as follows:

From the CU in the pantry straight out through an exterior wall along one wall, round 2 90 degree corners and along another wall above a flat roof but below the bedroom windows, down a wall near the kitchen window and into the ground.. under about 10 m2 of concreate area (thats gonna be fun) then under the lawn to the summer house, and up through the floor.

can anyone see any issues with this plan?

Also what would be the best set up in the summer house regarding a CU or fused points etc. if its a CU do we need another stake in the ground?