whirlpool bath power.

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

vic

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
can i take power from a socket in the next room to power my bath and a extractor fan, providing its fused.

thank you

 

vic

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
looked in the job in more depth, the fuse box is the old type with no rcd, so i told my dad it might be worthwile upgrading this for something more suitable. i isolted the power and had a good look in his fuse box, he has 2.5mm ring circuits with a cpc and 1.5mm lighting again with a cpc, although its the old colouring red,black and green its not rubber its pvc. so its looking positive, even a 6mm cooker cable not 4mm. i dissconected at the fuse to see if there was any loose cable to pull through, as the consumer unit is bigger and requires longer tails, but it would not budge, it was the same at thr rest apart from the 6mm cable as i pulled a foot through. my question to you is how can i get the increased length of cable to connect in to the consumer unit.

thank you.

 
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
17,033
Reaction score
21
looked in the job in more depth, the fuse box is the old type with no rcd, so i told my dad it might be worthwile upgrading this for something more suitable. i isolted the power and had a good look in his fuse box, he has 2.5mm ring circuits with a cpc and 1.5mm lighting again with a cpc, although its the old colouring red,black and green its not rubber its pvc. so its looking positive, even a 6mm cooker cable not 4mm. i dissconected at the fuse to see if there was any loose cable to pull through, as the consumer unit is bigger and requires longer tails, but it would not budge, it was the same at thr rest apart from the 6mm cable as i pulled a foot through. my question to you is how can i get the increased length of cable to connect in to the consumer unit.thank you.
Surly you'd just use terminal blocks http://www.screwfix.com/prods/28279/Electrical/Cable-Accessories/Cable-Connectors/Terminal-Blocks-15A-Pack-of-10

Or you could crimp

Or you could use the 'agricultural' method and use a bit of old electric fence wire..... ;)

 

The Godfather

Retired
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
1,302
Reaction score
0
As this is a change to the bathroom, an area regarded as one of the special locations, test equipment would be a useful asset.

Blindly adding circuits (DIY) without some means of testing is dangerous practice to say the least.

And yes RCD will be required.

The Godfather

 
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
9,994
Reaction score
0
Location
In the office again.
GF is correct, as one would expect (Would YOU argue?????)

If you are not qualified to do this work to 7671 & provide BRCC; I would suggest using someone who does / can.

To be taken in the manner it is intended (advisory)

KME

 

vic

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I passed my 16th edition wiring regs a couple a years and passed my upgrade to 17th in june but its mainly used at work with industrial, my friend is niceic registered so he will test and sign it of. so chocblox are okay to use?

thankyou.

 

Mr Sworld

Electrical Technician
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
I passed my 16th edition wiring regs a couple a years and passed my upgrade to 17th in june but its mainly used at work with industrial, my friend is niceic registered so he will test and sign it of. so chocblox are okay to use?thankyou.
Your NICEIC 'friend' cannot sign off other peoples work.

 

vic

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
can he not, i thought if he came and did a full inspection and test and issued me with a cert that was okay. he also nappit, if thats what it is called, registered aswell.

 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
13,622
Reaction score
298
can he not, i thought if he came and did a full inspection and test and issued me with a cert that was okay. he also nappit, if thats what it is called, registered aswell.
It's not who you are with..

Its what is the thing that you are signing for..

The declaration that is signed on the NICEIC Domestic Elec Ins Cert

is signed for Design, Construction, Inspection & Testing..

1 person/company signing for total responsibility.

Whereas the model forms in the regs.. (e.g. pg 332 big red book).

have space for separate signatures

1) Design

2) Construction

3) Inspection & testing.

which is more common practice within commercial work!

I personally would never sign off other persons work.. because..

should the worst happen and someone is seriously injured resulting in an investigation of some sort..

and if any negligence is identified.. well.. I wouldn't want that responsibility!!

spose it is a bit like...

using your mobile while driving..

or drink driving..

or fiddling your tax form..

There are risk & hazards some take the risks..

others stick to what is generally accepted as good practice..

and can sleep each night with a clear conscience.. :) ;)

 

avinalarf

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
417
Reaction score
0
It's not who you are with..Its what is the thing that you are signing for..

The declaration that is signed on the NICEIC Domestic Elec Ins Cert

is signed for Design, Construction, Inspection & Testing..

1 person/company signing for total responsibility.

Whereas the model forms in the regs.. (e.g. pg 332 big red book).

have space for separate signatures

1) Design

2) Construction

3) Inspection & testing.

which is more common practice within commercial work!

I personally would never sign off other persons work.. because..

should the worst happen and someone is seriously injured resulting in an investigation of some sort..

and if any negligence is identified.. well.. I wouldn't want that responsibility
Using Regs Model Forms, does that mean Vic can complete and sign for parts 1 and 2 and his friend sign part 3?

Who would that ultimately leave responsibility with then?

 
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
9,994
Reaction score
0
Location
In the office again.
Ms. Larf:

Vic, if the design or construction were at fault, or his friend if the I&T proved incorrect.

Its more a case of the BRCS (part "p") , which is either submitted by someone reg`d with a scam provider, or notified to LBC before work starts.

 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
11,445
Reaction score
432
Location
Sunny Plymouth
can he not, i thought if he came and did a full inspection and test and issued me with a cert that was okay. he also nappit, if thats what it is called, registered aswell.
The regs require as I understand it that an 'Installation Certificate' is required, not an inspection cert. But as SL says the installation cert has different signature boxes for Installation and Testing so would suggest using that and signing the appropraite boxes with your mate who will also need to register job with BC.

 
Top