Wiring a coffee shop on a bicycle !

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

total1

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a domestic electrician and was asked to do a job I'm unfamiliar with as follows :- 

A client has a trike (3 wheeler bike) with a large box on the front which is a mobile coffee serving unit.

It is to be static alongside a shops alleyway and I was asked to get power to it. The shop is supplying  the power

which was an outdoor socket fed by a dedicated circuit off a 32a RCBO and wired as a mini ring using x2 2.5 T&E.

My suggestion was to put a commando female wall mounted socket onto the wall next to the double socket

and on the trike and make an 'extension' lead using 4mm outdoor flex and male commando ends. Wire into the double 

socket and then as they want a couple of double sockets inside the trike box I'd use 2 lengths of 2.5 T&E connected to the 

female commando socket to make a tiny ring.

Another electrician has told them that this would be very dangerous. Can someone explain to me where I've gone wrong ?

Many thanks and try not to slate me too much.

seen entire burger vans on similar set-ups and can't think of any issues with what you propose to do. Just be wary of the metal frame of the bicycle - I would suggest double insulated everything. 

Don’t think a lead with two male ends is a good idea? What should happen if the bike end became unplugged and Martha’s little boy picked up the plug and opened the cap being the nosey git he is, live pins await him? 

What is the total load of the bike? 

Comparing it to a caravan, (which I'm familiar with), the difference is that there is another RCD within the van and the supply earth connection is bonded to the metal structure of the van.