Fan and fan controller wiring help please

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RIX

Reaction score
Hi all,

Need a little help wiring this up as im no electrician and dont want to blow the family up or burn the house down.

I got this controller

3 AMP Fan Speed Controller | eBay UK

and this fan

VK PRO FAN 250 (10") | eBay UK

A bit better description

VK IN LINE EXTRACTOR FAN | Buy Hydroponics

1st question is will these 2 run together ok,

2nd is my fan has no earth but controller wants a earth?what do I do?

Goint to give you details on them,

Fan

176 w 230v 50z (plug fuse is 3 amp)

Controller is 3amp 230v ac 1ph 50/60hz current range 0.3-3.0A fuse F5 A

Im pretty sure I done amp to watt calculation before I bought controller and it was above what I needed.

Heres some wiring I dont understand

Connection diagram L N L2 N L1 with 2 other boxes with like a upside down T with = the bottom line of the = being a bit smaller (sorry if this is crap description.

ok

L mains LIVE connection

N Mains NEUTRAL connection

L2 Unregulated 230v output (or switch live to eg,damper)

N motor NEUTRAL

L1 Regulated out put to motor

Now them up side down T with = under are bo0t Earth

Now theres a jumper too 0" and D" O version the motor starts according to the potentiometre and D-version the motor wil always start or restart at the highest speed nfor about 6-7 secs and the descend.

Ok last thing,the minimum speed is 100v they recommend a minimum of 70v,

Sorry if I come across dumb but I sort of know what to do but want to be 100%,I understand the jumper and potentiometre but need to know which is safest for the fan im using.

I also need to know which wires go where, starting from my fans neg and posative (no neutral) if you could please.

Im basicly trying to run the fan quieter and there for trying to slow it down..