First Day Nerves.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jono Pashley

Reaction score
Got a bit of work starting tomorrow as a electricians mate, i have some experience from working with people i know who have given me the odd couple of days etc. Just on edge about not being good enough! is this normal or am i just over reacting?

Any first day hints & tips are quiet welcomed!

No one will expect too much from you on your first day, just that you are pleasant and seem interested in the job.

Just be yourself, everyone gets nervous and it is normal.

You have every right to be there you passed an interview!

Your talant is not in question its your ability to work with people you have never met, this takes time as you have to sort the chaff from the good and make friendships to help you through.

Your not expected to know everything or how they work as a team, just be pleasant and listen to what your told to do you will be fine.

PS Good luck

if they ask you to do something and you are not sure what they are on about ask !!!

its easier to fix it before its done than to fix it after its done

dont be too suprised if you are left alone after a week or so to get on with jobs they know you can do

Its normal Jono, even those guys you meet who pretend not to be bothered by such things, are really, just havn't got the guts to admit it.

Notice those of us on here when the annual visit from the NICEIC, NAPIT, ELECSA etc draws near.

Always the same, new place, new people, once there you'll be fine.

As an electrician's mate , they shouldn't expect you know everything anyway, learn as much as you can from it.

Deke

First day nerves :) dont worry about it

I made a huge mistake in my "early days" (only 23 now) no offence to the oldies!!!