Help! My inverter has died.

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Looking for advice please. I have a simple 3kW solar panel and inverter system with a Solar River 3000TL inverter.
It was professionally installed about 10 years by a local company who are no longer in the business. I am on a good FIT.
It was working perfectly a couple of weeks ago, pushing out 2.5kW on a sunny afternoon. On a check today the fault lamp is on and the display shows "Relay Fail".
I've re-booted it a couple of times when it reverts to this state in about one minute.
I intend to sort out this issue myself, so would appreciate advice on my options. I don't want to invalidate my FIT. Presumably repairs are allowable
1. Is the inverter (economically) repairable ? I'm a retired engineer and happy to work on it BUT have no technical data/circuits, etc, or special test gear.
2. Any repair services I could ship it to?
3. Seek an identical replacement ? I've seen an advert for South West Renewables (Devon) Ltd offering refurbished units. Any experience of this company?
4. Obtain a different brand replacement ? Any particular brand or source ?

I had a Sunnyboy inverter that died, think it was something like £850 to buy one from the solar wholesaler, he said that no one ever buys one they all buy Solis at £400 both come with exactly the same warranty so why pay double, I couldn’t argue with that logic, I bought and fitted the Solis myself done and dusted in an hour, performance and parameters of system exactly the same so FIT none the wiser and not affected.
I did try to contact the installers but they were long out of business.
Note my figures quoted may be a bit out as this was 4 years ago.