RFI From Inverter

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pwablo

Reaction score
Hi

I am hoping this is the right place to seek some knowledgeable advice. I am an amateur radio operator and have recently had a new build property developed next door to mine in a very rural setting. Unfortunately the developers have installed a very noisy Sunsynk ECCO Hybrid 3.6Kw inverter and the amount of interference it is generating has rendered my radio equipment inoperable for some 2 months now. Ofcom identified the source of the noise initially, but seem unable to act, but fortunately the installer seems willing to help install some mitigation if I determine the solution and bare the costs. So far we have identified that the RFI drops significantly but not completely when the DC side to the panels are isolated, and also I noticed a drop in noise levels when cheap clip on ferrites were installed on the cables to the strings, however some RFI is still escaping when the inverter is in production mode, so we believe that the AC cable is also being used as an antenna. We dont believe that ferrites are sufficient to address any differential mode currents, so it is clear that a more robust and professional solution will be called for.