Looking for a sense check -to good to be true

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barry.millar

Reaction score
Hi total novice here looking for a sense check on a Solar pv quote

Info
45 deg roof 11m wide by 9m (house footprint)100% unshaded bang on south facing, no obstructions on roof.
Current elec usage is around 4000kwh per annum varying from around 10-15kwh per day never more or less as we both work from home and have fairly balanced usage.

Got quoted a 12kw system to include 6kw battery and immersion divertor. (Water currently heated from a gas condensing boiler though elec heater is there for manual use.

By their quote this will gen over 10kwh per annum so well over what I need even accounting for immersion which saves me some gas and also potentially factors in a couple of elec cars in me future

This reads as if it will pretty much make me have zero reliance on mains elec and significantly reduce my gas

Too good to be true??

Hi total novice here looking for a sense check on a Solar pv quote

Info
45 deg roof 11m wide by 9m (house footprint)100% unshaded bang on south facing, no obstructions on roof.
Current elec usage is around 4000kwh per annum varying from around 10-15kwh per day never more or less as we both work from home and have fairly balanced usage.

Got quoted a 12kw system to include 6kw battery and immersion divertor. (Water currently heated from a gas condensing boiler though elec heater is there for manual use.

By their quote this will gen over 10kwh per annum so well over what I need even accounting for immersion which saves me some gas and also potentially factors in a couple of elec cars in me future

This reads as if it will pretty much make me have zero reliance on mains elec and significantly reduce my gas

Too good to be true??