Passing exams

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ah - he's just bitter beacuse he failed :)

I have said before that to be good any anything you kneed knowledge AND experience. A experienced spark having worked for 30 years with no further updates in knowledge may be as dangerous as a fresh out of an intensive training course newbie.

You can't carry on doing things in the same way without updating your skills. An experienced spark should relish the oppotunity to prove himself by taking his 17th edition. He has no choice but to work to those very regs.

To remain practicing as a vet I have to do 35 hours per year of further training just to keep working. It's the same with doctors and dentists. I can see no reason why it should be any different for any other industry. That translates as basically 1 full week I'm not earning money I'm off doing some kind of training. I think this is a good idea and actually do more than that (some of it in my own time).

So, in summary, I think very little of the article! Someone is just bitter because they failed.

:D

I agree he does seem bitter but maybe he has good reason. He didn't fail because he didn't know the answers. He failed because he took the time to think so his failing was due to nothing but bad time management. Hardly the world's biggest issue to safety.

The point is that I think he's valid in questioning the structure of these exams and how they are not a sure fire indication of ability. I could probably pass but i'm not ready to install wiring in the big wide world. So, is this bloke just failing for having a conscience?

How many of us would pass our driving tests 30 years after learning??